At CCT we have the facilities and expertise to design and build bespoke bodies to suit all vehicles from 3.5t to 32t.

CCT have become established in the plant and heavy haulage industry as one of the market leaders in the UK for both heavy duty plant and platform bodies. With several blue chip companies including Kier Plant and Sir Robert McAlpine trusting us to build their bodies, our quality speaks for itself.

At CCT we listen to customer requirements and produce a bespoke built body. We are also keen to involve our customers at each stage of the build process to ensure that our body is built to their exact specification.

We have 3 years conformity of production from the VCA for Whole Vehicle Type Approval, proving our commitment to the quality control system we adhere to.

With health and safety being a critical issue in the modern world, we can meet your concerns by integrating our practical edge protection equipment and load area safety lights to your vehicles. At our purpose built premises in Holmewood, we are able to offer these solutions to both existing vehicles as well as new build.

At CCT we are proud to offer you our one stop shop for all your lorry loader requirements.


What is Whole Vehicle Type Approval (WVTA)?

EC Whole Vehicle Type Approval is a way of making sure vehicles are safe to use on the road and respect environmental considerations, without having to inspect and test every single one. Whole Vehicle Type Approval authorises a manufacturer to:

1. Produce vehicles to a proven specification and,

2. Self-certify these as compliant with relevant legislation.

Two fundamental requirements are:

1. Meeting the technical and administrative requirements and capturing the design. This is known as the 'Type Approval'.

2. Ensuring that subsequent production vehicles are manufactured in conformance with the approved design. This is known as 'Conformity of Production' (COP).


What are the certification options available?

European Community Whole Vehicle Type Approval (ECWVTA) – This scheme is based around EC Directives and Regulations and provides for the approval of whole vehicles, in addition to vehicle systems and separate components. This certification is accepted throughout the EU without the need for further testing until a standard is updated or your design changes. This option will particularly suit volume manufacturers and/or those wishing to sell products across Europe.

National Small Series Type Approval (NSSTA) – This will potentially suit those manufacturing vehicles in low volumes and/or those not wishing to sell products across Europe. However, the scheme has a limit on production numbers, depending on vehicle category. Also approval to this scheme may not be accepted outside of the UK. This route is the most desirable for the FASSI Main Dealers.

Individual Vehicle Approval (IVA) – This is an alternative to type approval. The scheme is operated by the Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA - formerly VOSA) and in Northern Ireland, the Driver Standards Agency (DSA). IVA involves an inspection of the vehicle by an examiner at an approved site. Inspection cost is £230 with a re-test fee of £46, plus of course the diesel & manhours required to move the vehicle to and from plus the paperwork preparation. Ability to test would also be subject to the availability of an appointment at the test centre with lead times constantly increasing.

The advantage of National Small Series Type Approval (NSSTA) is that it allows business (almost) as usual.

Once a Whole Vehicle Type Approval is in place it enables a manufacturer to self-certify that vehicles they produce are in compliance with legislation. One of the benefits of being able to ‘self-certify’ vehicles is that extra costs and delays caused by having to take vehicles for an individual inspection and approval are not introduced into the process of producing and registering subsequent vehicles. Of course, to realise these benefits, there is a need to invest sufficient resources to develop products and control systems, and so make it possible to achieve type approval.


What is a type?

The type follows the base vehicle manufacturer so for instance there are 6 types for Scania:

2 axles N320 Tractor Incomplete/Complete
2 axles N321 Rigid Incomplete
3 axles N330 Tractor Incomplete/Complete
3 axles N331 Rigid Incomplete
4 axles N340 Tractor Incomplete/Complete
4 axles N341 Rigid Incomplete